TC2027 – Computer and Information Security

I’m going to talk a little about my Computer Security course this semester.

The Content

We would get to really good discussions about security tools, news and the like. I learned a lot by just talking with the rest of the class. Also, I think the Security Now podcast was really interesting and I personally started watching it on my own time.

I found that the Tools Challenges were a pretty good guidance of things we should be practicing regarding the course. I found time to do the PGP, Encrypt your Drive and SSH Keys, the other two are still in my backlog.

Quality

I found the quality of the course to be good but with room for improvement like with any  course. I would do more WSQs and probably do some Tools Challenges together. Overall I think the quality of what we discussed during the course was good but I would work out how activities should play a part in the course. Kin Lane’s talk was really good too.

Suggestion

Ken, in this particular course I think that at the cost of removing grading there should be a policy that encourages doing certain activities like completing all WSQs and Challenges for getting the chance to attend a talk or be part of a small after-hours workshop.
I think this goes hand in hand with your idea of having the university reward students for answering the ECOAs.

 

Thank you

Thanks Ken for taking the time to teach us about security, pedagogy, and lots more about life. After this course I have changed many personal views for the better, I hope this blogging thing finally sticks.

Thank you! See you around the campus.

One thought on “TC2027 – Computer and Information Security

  1. Thank you Ney. I really enjoyed our discussions and especially today in my office. Stay in touch, we are teachers forever not just for single classes. My contact with all of my students from the past 20+ years never ends. I still talk with my first students from back in 1995.

    Cheers and thanks for the feedback.

    Like

Leave a comment